Return to Headlines

Common Core Standards

New York State will be shifting to new academic standards during the 2012-13 school year. At Plainview-Old Bethpage Middle School we are in the process of reviewing these standards and preparing for the implementation. Some general information about the transition to these standards in New York State is below from the New York State Common Core Standards Overview Document:

What are the Common Core State Standards? What is New York’s role in implementing the Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards Initiative is a state-led effort coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). The standards were developed in collaboration with teachers, school administrators, and experts, to provide a clear and consistent framework to prepare our children for college and the workforce.

The standards are informed by the highest, most effective models from states across the country and countries around the world, and provide teachers and parents with a common understanding of what students are expected to learn. Consistent standards will provide appropriate benchmarks for all students, regardless of where they live.

These standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education careers so that they will graduate high school able to succeed in entry-level, credit-bearing academic college courses and in workforce training programs. The standards:


Are aligned with college and work expectations;


Are clear, understandable and consistent;


Include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills;


Build upon strengths and lessons of current state standards;


Are informed by other top performing countries, so that all students are prepared to succeed in our global economy and society; and


Are evidence-based.

(taken from


The New York State P-12 Common Core Learning Standards were adopted by the New York State Board of Regents in January 2011 for ELA & Literacy and for Mathematics. These standards are composed of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and a small number of additional standards (15%), reflecting the addition of pre-K standards and standards related to diversity, for example. The NYS P-12 CCLS can be viewed here: